Skip to main content Skip to footer

Police Services Board Recruitment

Starting April 1, 2024, the Community Safety and Policing Act will be in place across Ontario. This means a change for the Grey Bruce OPP Detachment: they will now be overseen by a new Joint Police Services Board. Recruitment is now underway for Elected Officials and community members to join the board. The Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula Council appointed Councillor Laurie (Smokey) Golden as the elected official on Monday, January 8, 2024.

Board Composition

The Board will include one elected official from each of the following communities, as well as 4 members of the public:

  • Township of Georgian Bluffs
  • Township of Chatsworth
  • Municipality of Meaford
  • Municipality of Grey Highlands
  • Township of Southgate
  • Town of South Bruce Peninsula
  • Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula
  • Saugeen First Nation
  • Neyaashiinigmiing First Nation (Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation)


You are not eligible if you are:

  • A judge or justice of the peace
  • A member of a police service, special constable, or a First Nation Officer
  • Someone practicing criminal law (either defense or prosecution)
  • A director, officer, or employee of any policing provider
  • A former officer of the Grey Bruce Detachment OPP (if you left less than a year ago)

Having experience in local government or policing is considered an asset.

Compensation: Appointed community members will receive a per diem rate and mileage for travel to meetings.

How to Apply

To apply to serve your community as an Elected Official or community member of the OPP Joint Police Services Board, please submit the form below, attaching your resume. The Township of Georgian Bluffs is receiving the applications on behalf of the board.

Application Deadline: All applications must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. on February 26, 2024. You can apply using the online application or dropping your application off at the Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula's Clerk's Office at 56 Lindsay Road 5.

Frequently Asked Questions

The Grey Bruce Detachment Joint Board is a new governing body established under the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019. It replaces the previous Police Services Boards and governs municipalities and First Nations communities within the Grey Bruce area.

One elected official from each participating community will form the Ad-hoc Appointee Selection Committee to review community member applications to the Grey Bruce Detachment Joint Police Services Board.

Following their review of all applications received, the Committee will make recommendations to participating municipalities and First Nations communities regarding community member appointments to the Grey Bruce Detachment Joint Police Services Board.

It is anticipated that the new Board will meet approximately 6 times a year, and that meetings will allow both virtual participation and in person attendance. Meetings will be held in a location or locations across the service area of the new Board. The new Board Members will be required to undertake mandatory training. The extent, nature, format and timing for this training is not yet understood by staff, but will be an additional time commitment in 2024. As noted in this report, the timing for the first Joint Board meeting is not established as yet

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.